And so it begins…

So, where to begin? Well, I have been thinking about starting a blog about Planetside 2 since I started playing, but between posting on the forums, logging in to play the game and trying to have a life outside of gaming, I just never got around to it. Also, I did not play the PS2 beta, and it honestly took me a few months to even begin to understand everything about this game! It has been over 5 months since launch, and I’m still having just as much fun as the day I first started playing – and I plan to keep at it for a long time to come. So now is as good a time as ever to start blogging, and I hope you enjoy what I have to say. I also look forward to interacting with you, the readers, through comments, forum posts and whatever other means of social media exist for us to use.

My background:
I’m a working professional in my late twenties, live on the east coast, and keep pretty busy with real life stuff. That being said, I’ve been a gamer since I was 5 years old, with my first NES set. I played the original starcraft, warcraft II, doom/quake, counterstrike… lots of games. I no longer own a console and prefer PC gaming. I took a break from gaming to focus on college/graduate school, and picked it back up 5 years ago or so – with my first foray into the MMO world (I had a healthy fear of the timesink it could be). I played EVE Online from 2009-2012 and loved every minute of it. Such a great spaceship sandbox, it was a game that let my mind run free and be creative to achieve spaceship world domination! I ultimately walked away from the game because it is not a game that is conducive to short sessions – I would log in and find myself needing 2-4 hours of time in order to have a meaningful session. It just wasn’t sustainable with my life. Other titles I’ve played a reasonable amount in the last few years – Civ V, Starcraft II, and the occasional session of CS:GO. Notice that outside of CS:GO I barely played FPS’s? Yeah.

Planetside 2
So one day browsing steam, I saw the advertisement for Planetside 2. Free to play? Massive battles? FPS/PVP? PS2 seemed right up my alley, except for the lack of FPS gaming background. I knew NOTHING about the game, the lore, the fact that there was a Planetside 1… nothing! Downloaded the massive game file, created an account and it says: What server do you want? All these names mean nothing to me. What faction do you want? Ummmmmmm. Sorry to say, I did have any background or reason for the defining choices of my PS2 career. I said, Terran republic looks cool! I don’t want to be NC, that guitar song sounded cheesy. And the VS are purple. So now I’m TR. Which server… well I’m on the East Coast, I probably don’t want one of the “full” servers… SolTech is a cool name. *Click*

And there you have it. I was born Mustarde, a member of the Terran Republic on the SolTech server. I think I defaulted to light assault, got dropped into some random battle and died a bazillion times, getting maybe 5-10 kills. But there were explosions everywhere and I was having a blast. I had no idea what a sunderer was, but eventually figured out that I was spawning at one. So many things were foreign to me, looking back now brings a smile to my face. The resource system, the cert tree, the weapons… everything was completely new and I had no idea what was going on.

The blog:
What follows in my story will be part of my next blog post, from learning the game to getting where I am today. So why am I blogging, and what do I plan to do with this? Well, for those who read the infiltrator forums regularly, I tend to post often, with as much information as I can gather and give. I love engaging in discussions about weapons, tactics and weaknesses of the infiltrator class, and occasionally I dip into the general discussion thread to put my thoughts out there for the trolls to stomp on. I’ve come up with lots of things to say about the game, and while forums are a great place to get things noticed, they quickly fall away into the abyss of pages 3-99 on a board. I hope to use this blog to release various guides that I come up with, as well as discuss strategy, tactics, metagame, and general opinions about Planetside and the community. Everything here will be my own opinion and I don’t expect everyone to agree with it.

The other reason that I decided to start blogging is that one thing I loved about playing EVE online was the awesome community that grew around the game – there were dozens and dozens of EVE blogs that were as creative and interesting as the game itself. Some of the best information available about the game was within the blogosphere, since the game itself offered very little explaination in terms of tutorial, mechanics, etc etc (sound familiar?). One thing I noticed is that while Planetside is an older franchise, there are very few people blogging or participating in the community outside of forums such as Planetside universe, reddit or the official forums. I suppose that some style of EVE blogging is a bit old fashioned – nowadays the most active community participants in PS2 have twitch streams and youtube channels to put out video blogs and guides about the game. My favorite (and only active) podcast, ReachCast has weekly episodes and Noxxxia, one of the co-hosts has a regular blog on their site. Besides that, there isn’t much out there in terms of PS2 blogging. Hopefully I can jump-start that with this humble little blog, which I will supplement with videos and streaming as well.

Thanks for reading, please bookmark the page, add it to your RSS feed, and follow me on the various social media I’ve linked. I look forward to sharing in the journey of Planetside 2 with you!

Mustarde

Leave a Reply

